Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Spain itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

DateDayHolidayAutonomous Communities
1 JanSunNew Year's DayNational
2 JanMonNew Year's Day
Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias,
Castile and Leon, Murcia
and Melilla
6 JanFriEpiphanyNational
28 FebTueAndalucia Regional HolidayAndalusia
1 MarWedBalearic Islands Regional HolidayBalearic Islands
20 MarMonSt. Joseph's DayExtremadura and Madrid
13 AprThuMaundy ThursdayNational
(Except Catalonia)
14 AprFriGood FridayNational
17 AprMonEaster MondayBalearic Islands, Catalonia,
Valencia, Navarra,
Basque Country and La Rioja
24 AprMonAragon Regional HolidayAragon
24 AprMonCastile and Leon Regional HolidayCastile and Leon
1 MayMonLabour DayNational
2 MayTueMadrid Regional HolidayMadrid
17 MayWedGalician Literature DayGalicia
30 MayTueCanary Islands Regional HolidayCanary Islands
31 MayWedCastile-La Mancha Regional HolidayCatille-La Mancha
9 JunFriMurcia Regional HolidayMuricia
9 JunFriLa Rioja Regional HolidayLa Rioja
15 JunThuCorpus ChristiCatille-La Mancha
24 JunSatSt. John's DayCatalonia
25 JulTueSantiago Apostle /
National Day of Galicia
Galicia, Navarra and
the Basque Country
15 AugTueAssumption of MaryNational
1 SepFriFeast of the Sacrifice / Eid al-Adha *Ceuta & Melilla
2 SepSatCeuta Municipal HolidayCeuta
8 SepFriAstorias Regional HolidayAsturias
8 SepFriExtremadura Regional HolidayExtremadura
11 SepMonNational Day of CataloniaCatalonia
15 SepFriCantabria Regional HolidayCantabria
9 OctMonValencian Regional HolidayValencia
12 OctThuFiesta Nacional de EspañaNational
1 NovWedAll Saints' DayNational
6 DecWedConstitution DayNational
8 DecFriImmaculate ConceptionNational
25 DecMonChristmas DayNational
26 DecTueSt. Stephen's DayCatalonia

The national government has set the nine national dates and allows each of the communities to choose their own holidays. Part of the national law also allows each community to substitute two of the nationally selected holidays with two additional local holidays. The two holidays that can be legally substituted are the Feast of the Epiphany and Maundy Thursday.

There is varying information available about employees being paid for national holidays. Many sources report that employees are paid for their holiday and if required to work, receive a premium pay rate for that day. However, a few sources state that due to austerity measures, holidays are only a non-working day. It may be possible that employees only receive pay if part of their employment contract offers this benefit.